Trust no one…

… with your future.

That’s going to be my new motto.

One thing about a vacation is that you get perspective. You get to stand back, outside your normal life and see a much broader picture of how things are. You start thinking about where you’ve been and where you’re going–and whether or not you’re on the right path to get there.

I did. And I came to the realization that I’ve been standing still for a while. Not that I’ve minded. I like how things are right now. I like knowing what happens next. It’s an unusual situation for me. But I also realized that if I need things to change–and it may come to that–I will have to be the one to make the change happen.

So I am. But I’m not looking for another job. And I’m not opening a tart shop, as tempting as it may be. I need to lean on my real strengths. I’ve had a concept for a creative business rattling around in my mind for a couple of years. I’ve decided, based on how I’m seeing circumstances align, that now is the time to put it into action. To get started. To prepare.

The problem for me is that I have an entrepreneurial spirit, but I’m totally risk-adverse when it comes to all things financial. Aside from that dot com mutual fund in the late 90s. That wasn’t pretty. But no, I just had to own a tiny slice of the NASDAQ action.

Small independent businesses have the best chance of survival if you start them while you still have another income. And I do. I have a good job that I still enjoy doing after several years. And I’m going to hold on to it as long as I can. But as with any job these days, it could go away tomorrow, through no fault of my own.  In this economy, job security means leaving the office on Monday knowing for sure that you’re coming back on Tuesday. And the list making, schedule creating, put something away for a rainy day Girl Scout in me has to be prepared.  For any eventuality.

I want to build something that can see me into retirement. I don’t want to travel the world. I don’t want to play golf. I just want to have a reason to get up in the morning while making sure we can eat and have a decent roof over our heads. Not too much to ask.

So over the next few months, I’ll be in planning mode. I have a brand new moleskine in my purse. I’ve bought a URL and registered a company blog. I have to see my accountant. I have ideas for a logo and the beginnings of a client list. I dug out my copy of the The Martha Rules. This is the fun part. I know why so many people love to work for start-ups. Watching what was originally a thought that came to you in the shower or a few notes jotted on a napkin become a reality is a heady sensation. And highly addictive.

At the tender age of nearly 52, I’ll start anew. I’ll be a statistic, because I’m in the age group in which a lot of women establish businesses. I’ll be part of the mobilization of talent, experience and newfound mid-life energy, wisdom and passion that are the foundation for these new ventures.  And I’ll be relying on the one person I fully trust to make it work.

Me.

Leave a Reply

